• Turkish
  • English

Yeditepe University Philosophy Department is the first philosophy department to start undergraduate education among the privately funded universities (1996) and the first to have FEDEK accreditation among all philosophy departments in Turkey (2012). It offers B.A., M.A., and Ph.D. degrees as well as a non-thesis M.A. program.

A joint M.A. program with Paderborn University Philosophy Department specialized in “Women in Philosophy throughout History” has recently been launched.

The department of Philosophy aims to endow the students with the capacity of acting upon their own critically justified evaluations based on philosophical analysis of human nature, individuals, events and phenomena, as well as contributing to philosophical knowledge both in Turkish and at least one other language. Ancient Greek or Latin is compulsory for the undergraduates in order to provide the possibility of access to the original texts.

Philosophy department has active Double Major Program agreements with the departments of Psychology, Translation and Interpreting Studies, Guidance and Psychological Counselling, History, English Language and Literature, Turkish Language and Literature, Anthropology, Sociology, Visual Communication Design, Radio, Television and Cinema, Theatre, and Plastic Arts and Painting.

The department has ERASMUS student and academic staff exchange agreements with the Philosophy Departments of the following universities: Cologne, Paderborn, Bremen, Berlin Freie, Hildesheim, Münster, Witten/Herdecke, Stuttgart, Potsdam,  Bologna, Leiden, Marie Curie, Saints Cyril and Methodius.

Our department also publishes Yeditepe'de Felsefe, an academic journal listed in the International Philosopher's Index.